top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureEmmie Berrie

Moving on



A million heartbreaks in the word “goodbye”.

I stand in the shards of my shattered affection

And I know that nothing can be done.


You'll move on alright. You always do.

You'll make new friends. Different friends.

A whole new world, and I'm not in it.

Maybe you'll think of me, sometimes.

But it never affects you like it affects me.


I promise myself this will never happen again.

Head down. Don't talk. Don't let anybody close.

For a while, it works. Lonely is safe.

But lonely also hurts.


I know I can't keep people out forever.

Some demand to be let in.

And I'm tired of being lonely, so I let them.

But they won't stay forever. They never do.

They can't. Life is more important.


I see the damage coming, but yet I let it live.

I'll make it out alive. I always do.

The memories of you hurt sometimes.

But I can't bear to be alone anymore.

Sometimes people are worth the pain of loving.

113 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page